Gallery04 July 2019

Varigotti: The beach surrounded by colored houses with typical Ligurian colors [Video and Photo Gallery]

The characteristic "Saracen village", with the bright colors of its facades and square buildings, and the quality of its beaches have made Varigotti a popular tourist destination, with highly distinctive seamen features.

Credit Twice25 Rinina25

Credit Twice25 Rinina25

Varigotti is an important seaside resort, visited by many Italian and foreign tourists, but also sought-after beach of local people, once an independent municipality,

Varigotti was united to Final Pia in 1869 and in 1927 it merged in today's municipality of Finale Ligure, suffered stages, not without complaints of the inhabitants with a strong sense of identity.

The medieval remains of the fifteenth century, which rise on the promontory, testify to its historical past.

On the way to Noli, the beach of Baia dei Saraceni one of the largest and most beautiful beaches of the Riviera, surrounded by high cliffs and the wild nature.

Varigotti gave the birth to the film and television director Renato Castellani, after whom was named the dock.

  • Discover Varigotti:

the history, the old town, seen from the hoverports of the hilly villages, climbing to visit Punta Crena and the medieval church of San Lorenzo.

Starting near the route at Punta Crena (Promontorium on the western border of Saracens Bay), are the remains of a castle and a watchtower against pirates. The origins of the church of San Lorenzo date back to the early Christian period in the III - IV centuries. In 1944, it was badly damaged by a bomb dropped by the British. Next to the church is a wall, which is a picturesque votive collection, dedicated to the mishaps related to navigation (mausoleum Cerisola).

Along the upper part of the itinerary, with a short detour, you can reach the "Witches" Tower", built in the sixteenth century on the border between Noli and Varigotti, at that time hostile places: Noli was an ally of the Genoese Republic, Varigotti belonged to the Marquis Del Carretto from Finale. Other ruins along the way are: the three churches of San Lazzaro, San Michele, Santa Margherita and the Hermitage of Captain D'Albertis.

  • Panoramic excursion Noli Cape and Grotta dei Falsari:

A steep path leads to a cave: it is the cave of the forgers or brigands. The name comes from the time when the transit was banished in this winding path: in particular, it is said that this gorge was the secret hiding place of the villains who used it as a camp. Access to the cave, overlooking the sea, is downhill. The cavity has a large opening to the sea: a spectacular balcony on the coast from which the light filters. 


Judit Neuberger

International editions:   English | Deutsch | Russian